Picture
After a wonderful weekend, J started feeling a little under the weather on Sunday.  I decided to make some delicious creamy soup for my love and we enjoyed it with some crusty bread!  This soup is one of my favorite cold weather dishes and makes the house smell wonderful while it cooks all day.  It freezes extremely well and is good in the lunch box the next day, so I recommend making extra!  I have also tried this soup in a lighter version by not adding the cream mixture at the end.  Enjoy this on a cold fall night or when someone you love isn't feeling top notch...

Happy Cooking :) Courtney



Ingredients:

4 1/2 cups chicken broth
2 cups water
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 package of Rice-a-Roni long grain and wild rice 
1/2 tsp salt (plus more to taste)
1/2 tsp pepper
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup butter
2 cups half and half (I used fat-free half and half)
1 cup grated carrots (I diced mine)
1 cup diced celery

Directions:

Combine broth, water, carrots, celery, chicken and rice (along with seasoning packet) in a large slow cooker. Cook on low for 6 hours or on high for 4 hours. Take out chicken and shred with two forks and then add back into slow cooker. In a small bowl combine salt, pepper, and flour. In medium saucepan over medium heat, melt butter. Stir in flour mixture by tablespoon to form a roux. Whisk in cream, a little at a time, until fully incorporated and smooth. Stir cream mixture into slow cooker and then let cook on low for 15 more minutes. 




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I'm Courtney...I love to cook, I live to teach, and I love living life with my sweet husband and our crazy puppy!  Here, I will aim to document our lives and share delicious recipes and teaching ideas. 

    Archives

    September 2012

    Categories

    All
    Cook
    Live