"Teachers teach because they care. Teaching young people is what they do best. It requires long hours, patience, and care."
--Horace Mann

Teaching is what I've always felt called to do.  I've known for a very long time that God was leading me to be a teacher and I love where I am in my profession and I really do love my job.  Although some days are hard, most days are really good, and a lot of days are absolutely wonderful.  I teach fourth grade at a wonderful school in NC and I love my fabulous fourth grade friends.  I think fourth grade was destined to be my thing and I can't imagine teaching any other age :)    

I love the quote that I have posted above and I think that it says a lot about the life of a teacher.  I care deeply about my students and desperately want them to succeed, be happy, and know how to respect themselves and others.  I spend a lot of time thinking about my students and planning for their days, and even though the hours are long...it's worth it in the long run to have a student tell you how much they have learned or see them grow throughout the school year.  

So...here's to all the 9 and 10 year olds that I spend every day with and I know will change the world one day

Happy Teaching - Courtney



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I'm Courtney...I love to cook, I live to teach, and I love living life with my sweet husband and our crazy puppy!  Here, I will aim to document our lives and share delicious recipes and teaching ideas. 

    Archives

    September 2012

    Categories

    All
    Cook
    Live