Picture
I LOVE fall...I mean not a simple, oh I kind of like it, but serious heart-warming LOVE for the most beautiful season of the year!  Now that it's finally starting to feel like fall in the south, it's time to break out my crock pot, roast some fall veggies and make everything pumpkin that I can get my hands on! Fall is not only my favorite season to be outdoors, but it's also the best kitchen time at our house :)  Here are some of my favorite fall recipes that I've made recently! 

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup
INGREDIENTS:
1 onion, chopped
1 (16 ounce) can chili beans
1 (15 ounce) can black beans
1 (15 ounce) can whole kernel corn,
drained
1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
1 (12 fluid ounce) can or bottle beer
2 (10 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with
green chilies, undrained
1 (1.25 ounce) package taco seasoning
3 whole skinless, boneless chicken
breasts
shredded Cheddar cheese (optional)
sour cream (optional)
crushed tortilla chips (optional)

DIRECTIONS:
1.Place the onion, chili beans, black beans, corn, tomato sauce, beer, and diced tomatoes in a slow cooker. Add taco seasoning, and stir to blend. Lay chicken breasts on top of the mixture, pressing down slightly until just covered by the other ingredients. Set slow cooker for low heat, cover, and cook for 5 hours.

2.Remove chicken breasts from the soup, and allow to cool long enough to be handled. Stir the shredded chicken back into the soup, and continue cooking for 2 hours. Serve topped with shredded Cheddar cheese, a dollop of sour cream, and crushed tortilla chips!  Recently, we've been obsessed with the sweet potato tortilla chips from Trader Joes...a must have for a little soup dippin'

Roasted Fall Veggies
Ingredients:
1 Butternut Squash, cubed
2 Sweet Apples (braeburn and gala are totally our faves)
1 tbsp olive oil
1 Red Onion
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp dried basil
1 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp salt


DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees 

2.  Using a large, non-stick baking sheet, spread out all veggies into one even layer.  Pour olive oil over entire mixture and toss to coat.  

3. Mix spices in a separate bowl and toss over veggie mixture.  Bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes, turning occasionally, until all veggies are tender and starting to turn brown.  I also often turn the broiler to high for a minute or two to get a little more brown!

Pumpkin Muffins
INGREDIENTS:
1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
4 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
2/3 cup water
3 cups white sugar
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger


DIRECTIONS:
1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place paper muffin cups into tins (makes about 18).


2.In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, water and sugar until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared muffin tins.

3.Bake for about 20 minutes in the preheated oven. Loaves are done when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

More to come...Happy cooking!

:) Courtney

10/15/2012 01:06:23 am

Courtney...I am really enjoying your bog...just copied the recipe for Taco Soup and off to the grocery store to buy the ingredients. While I was at it, I made a menu for the week...like you!!! I am tracked out now and loving this extra time to let my soul catch up with my body!! Enjoyed reading about your teaching...I know God calls us to teach!!! have a great day!!!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I'm Courtney...I love to cook, I live to teach, and I love living life with my sweet husband and our crazy puppy!  Here, I will aim to document our lives and share delicious recipes and teaching ideas. 

    Archives

    September 2012

    Categories

    All
    Cook
    Live